Governments of the French Revolution

	Absolute Monarchy, before 1789	National Assembly, 1789–1792	National Convention, 1792–1795	Directory, 1795–1799	Consulate, 1799–1804	Empire, 1804–1815	Restoration, 1814, 1815–1830
Executive	King Louis XVI as absolute monarch	King Louis XVI as a limited monarch	Committee of Public Safety , 9 to 12 members chosen by the Convention	Five-person Directory	Three-person Consulate , with Napoleon Bonaparte as First Consul	Emperor Napoleon I	King Louis XVIII, brother of Louis XVI, as limited monarch.
Legislature	Theoretically the Estates General , which had not met in over 200 years.	One-house legislature, the National Assembly	National Convention, a constitutional convention and legislature.	The Council of 500 and the Council of Ancients , a two-house legislature	Conservative Senate , the Tribunate , and the Legislative Corps , a three-house legislature with little real power.	The Empire had the same legislature as the Consulate, but with even less power.	Parliament, made up of of the Chamber of Deputies and the Chamber of Peers .
Individual rights	Most of the population was heavily taxed. People outside the clergy and nobility had few rights.	The Declaration of the Rights of Man and the Citizen established basic rights and legal equality.	Thousands were killed in <i>"The</i> <i>Reign of Terror."</i> Religion was suppressed. All men over 21 had the vote. Slavery was abolished in Haiti.	The Reign of Terror ends. Some democratic reforms were abolished.	Laws protecting individual rights, such as religious freedoms, were made into the Napoleonic codes.	Napoleon brought back royal titles and imposed strict censorship.	A new Charter was issued by the king that preserved most of the individual rights that had been gained in the revolution.

